Deal check: 2020 VW Golf TSI Automatic

Looking at a 2020 VW Golf TSI Automatic. ZIP code is 15108 (Pennsylvania).

Trading my car in (I have the title), it’s falling apart slowly. Multiple appraisals have settled on $3k. I just want to get rid of it. Will use it instead of a down payment.

I’m new to this, but I think both of these are bad deals, right? The calculator is saying I should be paying around $275/month for either of these…

Dealer #1

MSRP............... 25574
Selling price...... 23735
Trade-in........... 3000
Terms.............. 36mo, 10k mi/yr
MF................. .00001 (from Edmunds)
RV................. 49% (from Edmunds)
0 down (plus my $3k car) = $333/month

Dealer #2

MSRP............... 25709
Selling price...... 23770
Trade-in........... 3000
Terms.............. 36mo, 10k mi/yr
MF................. .00051 (from dealer #2)
RV................. 50% (from dealer #2)
0 down (plus my $3k car) = $324/month

Dealer #3
Still waiting on a quote…

Seems a bit odd that the RV and MF would vary.

That said, at those MFs, I would take back the $3k from the trade in a check and put zero down (many would advise you do that anyway).

That said, you must really really want the Golf to pay an effective payment of over $400/mo for if. It doesn’t lease well. If it was me, I would either purchase/finance the Golf or lease something else. If you must have a hatch, the Corolla SE leases well in some regions.

+1. Find a 2019 hatch or preferably wagon before they run out, it’s the last year of the 6yr/72k mile warranty. Finance at “0 APR”

Wagons will hold their value better because VW will no longer import them but the hardcore wagon fanatics will always want one.

1 Like