Commuter options, 18k miles a year

Hey all, never leased before so I’m new to this world. Been doing a bunch of research, but was curious what the community thought about a higher milage commuter.

Things I Need:

• Automatic Transmission
  • Above 30MPG
  • Under ~$275 a month

Things I Want:

• some form of adaptive cruise
  • Android Auto

Options I’m currently considering:

• Purchase of 2018 Corolla LE - (Currently a $2,000 cash back, no Android Auto, no concern over milage)
  • Lease of 2018 Corolla LE - ($1,200 lease cash, no android auto)
  • Lease of 2019 Jetta S - (Overall I like the car better, Android Auto, but no Adaptive Cruise)

I’m open to most any suggestions at this point, just trying to get a feel for what people think of my considerations, and what I’m looking for.

You might want to buy a VW GTI. 18k miles a year is a lot for a lease.

Get an '18 Jetta before they are gone, why buy a GTI, you’d be upside down and would cost allot more. The Jetta would be under warranty the whole time too. '19 Jetta you’ll have to wait to get to that price point.

What’s the upside to buying a GTI vs something else? Just curious why you’d suggest buying one.

The high milage on a lease is one of the major reasons I was looking for input, I know it’s not super high compared to some of the requests on here, but it’s higher than standard offerings.

I was mostly looking at the 19 Jettas because I like their body style better, and they’ve got slightly improved gas milage.

I also noticed I put the wrong payment in, I put in what i was looking at with a down payment, but that was before I read on here that you should avoid down payments if possible.

I’m looking to be under ~$275