Car Insurance Hacks?

I am new to lease hacking and I can’t wait to try it for myself when my current lease matures.

Is there any car insurance hacks? I know most finance/lease agreements require 100k/300k/50k with maximum 2.5k deductibles. By lease hacking, you’re getting a car that you wouldn’t otherwise get, or want to pay for. Usually, these cars are worth $60k+ and I’m assuming the car insurance payments are going to be similar if not more than the monthly lease payments lol

So just curious, what do guys do for car insurance? Are there any hacks?

The best thing you can do is maintain a clean driving record (accidents/tickets).

When shopping around get a quote from everywhere. Most places give a discount to pay for 6mo up front, do it. When your 6mo policy is set to expire, get new quotes from everyone again. Most insurance “loyalty” incentives aren’t worth it if you can find a cheaper rate elsewhere.

There’s so much that goes into insurance premiums…

1. Age
  2. Driving record
  3. Accident Record
  4. Location
  5. Type of Car
  6. Credit history
  7. Coverage amounts
  8. Deductibles

just to name a few. Best bet is as @nalyd says…get quotes from anyone you can.

My driving record is already clean and I always pay 6 months up front. I probably just need to shop around more. Any other tips? Hacks? I’m always looking to save some $$$. :smiley:

For some reason, my car insurance payment always matches my car lease payment. Maybe it’s because I’m 24? lol

Here’s a funny “hack” that happened to me with Farmers:

Change from a $22k MSRP Chevy Cruze to a $53k MSRP BMW i3 and have your 6 month premium go down by $120. Same coverage on both! :rofl:

Both my wife and I have a clean driving record.

1 Like

Farmers’ it is! I’ll swap a 2018 Toyota Yaris L for a 2018 Mercedes E class and let everyone know how it goes!