Can a US resident buy/import a CPO Mercedes Benz from Canada?

So I was looking into leasing a GLC AMG 63 SUV but obviously they lease extremely poorly. So I figured I would go the CPO route. However, Canada got the GLC AMG 63S but US only got the none S version. Soooo I wondered if I could buy a Canadian CPO AMG 63S even though I’m a permanent resident of Pittsburgh PA.

Anyone have any thoughts on this? I would greatly appreciate any intelligent input. Thanks!!!

Moving to Off Ramp since it’s not a lease question.

Can you? Yes. Should you? :man_shrugging:t2:

You’ll need to research the specific import requirements, and you’ll have a car whose dash is calibrated in Metric. There are posts elsewhere about getting that swapped (I’ve seen lots on BMW forums, not certain about MB).

1 Like

Not really sure the difference is worth the import tax and probably denial of warranty coverage (who would reimburse dealers for working on this car? MBUSA? Nope. MB Canada? Doubt it.)

It is way more headache than it’s worth and is a massive value deduct when you sell or trade.

2 Likes

I brought my car from Canada when I first moved here, it was a pain selling or trading it in. I would not recommend it. That was years ago but not sure anything changed really.

4 Likes

For the most part the majority of differences will be software related, i.e higher output, no race mode for non S, exhaust pops and burbles.

I’m sure there are some other differences but it’s mostly trivial.

It’s an suv… I don’t think 2 tenths of a second on your 0-60 is going to be worth the effort of buying a Canadian car.

If you really want the S then just go get a glc63 from here and go to mbworld and get a reputable tuner to jack up the boost to what the S has… boom! You now have the power of a glc63S!

2 Likes

Why not just lease an X3M Competition? GLC63 leases poorly—so you’re willing to tie up your cash in a CPO. Is the marginal difference between the two worth the extra headache?