Boston area, looking for something by this weekend. Complete beginner

So my car (1999 Rav 4 with over 250k miles) is in the shop again. Might be time to let it go. This $700 repair, if I do it, will total around 2k in one year on repairs. Plus the radiator is leaking. It has been for a while, but it’s a timebomb. And I have to get it inspected, and the windshield replaced. Just, at this point, I have to ask myself, am I really saving any money by keeping it?

Trying to get a payment under $200 for sure, $150 would be preferred, around $100 would be wonderful. Especially considering the increase in insurance (about another additional $800 a year), and increase in excise tax - I pay a measly $40 a year right now. Guess the State figures my car is worth about $1,500, which, I’ll sell it to 'em for $1k!

I don’t care what I drive, but something with a back seat. Basic sedan would be great.

I know so very little about leases, and I’m cramming like a procrastinating student before the midterms. I always thought that Wellesley Toyota’s “The Now Way” was probably the easiest best deal I was going to get. Seems to be all up front about any hidden charges.

A Honda dealership near me has some advertised deals, but I don’t know what they would convert to if I did no $ down. (Or something small like 1k I wouldn’t mind loosing in case of bad luck - accident & stolen). Also seems to be riddled with hidden charges.

And ultimately, I am so impressed with how well people here seem to be able to do the deal. I’m absolutely terrible at dealing with dealers. Terrible! I’m going to try to learn what I can here, but I know when it comes to the face to face, ugh, I’m going to just do a bad job. Wish there were such a thing as advocates that could do the deal for you.