BMW negative equity - in a lease?

Hello, first timer here. I have a 2021 BMW 530i xDrive coming off lease with BMWF in August. I went to the dealership since they want my car (12k miles under). The payoff amount is $37k before fees/taxes. I would like to lease a 2023 same car, coming off being a loaner with 8K miles. The reason is because the extended warranty/maintenance on the 2021 is $8k if I purchased it at lease end. That’s not the issue.

They are telling me that the ”trade-in” for my 2021 is only $30,000, so if I lease another car, that negative equity of $7k would be rolled into my new lease.

1. I didn’t know leases had “negative equity”.
  2. I’ve been leasing for 15 years and the ending leased car was never referred to as a “trade-in” for the next leased car.
  3. The lease end and a new lease were considered separate transactions, now this appears together?

There is no negative equity if you turn it in in August. If you want to turn it in early, then there may be.

6 Likes

Good point, it would be $2,500 for those payments. But the salesperson said they’d cover them.

Tried AutoNation, CarMax, etc?

A couple diff sites said $35k for “trade-in”. There are four 2021 same car, on their lot for $45-47k sale price, these are for purchase, not lease.

I don’t understand what changed now from just turning in the car, then getting a new lease on a newer vehicle. I’ve always done that. If I don’t lease another car, would I owe the $7k?

I’m not adept enough to sell a car on my own. Just stating the facts.

No, you won’t owe anything unless there’s excess wear and tear at lease maturity. No need to pay 7k regardless even if everything else makes it irresistible to get that 2023 when your next 5 pmts only add up to 2500. Have a family member you like and trust who may use this car until August?

Lastly, that dealer doesn’t want your car, they want to unload the 2023 before the end of lease of support currently set at 3/31.

1 Like