Best way to into dealer and make an offer

Hey Leasehackrs

I am wondering if there are any write ups on best way to go into a dealer to make an offer and how to negotiate the % off?

Just bring the calculator?
Have the MF and RV written down?

What tips do you have to share!

Looking to work on a deal on an in stock BMW with a local dealer.

Thanks

1. Walk into car store.
  2. Slap reception desk (hard, loud).
  3. Shout: “Who wants to sell a car today?”
  4. Profit.
36 Likes

You dont go to the dealer and make an offer there.

(Do as i say, not as I do, as i sit in a showroom making an offer while typing this)

15 Likes

What’s the car this time Matt?

Once you walk into their Spiderweb, they will do EVERTHING to wear you down. After 5 hours you would sign away your first born and not notice it.

Get it all in Email first.

4 Likes

Left over 22 Grand cherokee 4xe

6 Likes

Brief off topic: ooh, which car??? (edit: already answered)

To the OP, I am not very experienced, but I think keeping things initially simple and calling/texting/e-mail, “I’d like to make an offer of $X per month w/ $Y due at signing. If you can do this, I can come today or within the next few days to sign and pick up the car.”

Do your research before you make an offer/bid. You should know this ahead of time.

You should know exactly the deal youre going to offer them before doing anything. Dont ask them what they want you to pay.

2 Likes

I usually try to quantify my availability in hours rather than days. “Next few days” is more nebulous and noncommittal than i want to portray.

3 Likes

Do not mention LH or the calculator or reference anything of that nature.

There was a great thread on this subject last year though I can’t find it at the moment.

11 Likes