Baseline for Leasing

Before s*** hit the fan on leasing what did BMW X5 leased for? This is the thought running in my head. I might get hit hard in the replies, but I am no pro and just want to know how (much) bad the market is right now?
I am talking about 2020 precovid era what did a BMW X5 lease in the northeast (cos that’s where it rains deals) - ballpark $70000 MSRP towards the end of year. What should be the discount percentage and (the tough one) approx. payment for a 24/10 lease?

I do understand the lease payment can be tough to approximate but didn’t want to limit the thoughts in the query. Discount percentage should be helpful too

Search in “Share Deals” and “Marketplace”.

2 Likes

24 hasn’t been worth it on BMW’s for a long time

Why does it matter what deals were in 2020? You plan to use that as a baseline for a deal today?

2 Likes

I’ll have to dig it up, but not only were the rates at least 100 basis points lower but the residual was also 5 points higher.

Rebate is within 1K of what it was.

In short, you’d need a 20% discount today to match a 9% off deal then. Happy shopping!

It might be crazy to answer Yes to this. The thing is there is far more speculation on leasing vs owning due to the market. Now I just want to know should I hold off for the market to get more smoother or the deals are pretty much near there cos the stocks are getting lined up

Nah. Deals will dry up for Jan/Feb like they always do.

If you want a car and can’t wait for end of Q1 2023 I’d get my boots and gloves on now and go grind one out (or talk to a friendly roundel broker)

1 Like

Thanks. This helps. Do you see them getting better in the next 3-4 months? Not requesting you to predict the future but just a trend analysis?

Not necessarily better but at least in line with what we have to offer today.