2nd-year PhD Student BMW Leasing

Hi Hackers,

I am pretty new here and have learned a lot since I signed up. Thank everyone for sharing their knowledge!

I am considering leasing a BMW 330e. BMW 330i is also acceptable due to the shortage of 330e in CA. I have a 3-year credit history and 756 Experian FICO® Scores, 731 FICO® Auto Score 8. I am an international student and currently pursuing a Ph.D. degree. My F1 visa has expired and my I-20 is expiring June 2025. From my perspective, I-20 determines the duration I can stay. So in terms of I-20, I am eligible for a 3-year lease. But from the past posts, it seems very difficult for F-1 students to get approved, especially BMWFS.

If you know more details, could you please give me some resources or suggestions? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Not as much on I-20, agreed

Perhaps @Calvin.MB can find out for mb?

@BMW_Dave ?

@Samaudibh any idea if Audi leases to I-20 visa holders?

From my perspective, your visa determines the duration of your stay, and it is expired. I-20 shows for how long you are enrolled.
I may be wrong here, though.

Thanks for your reply. I attached the following link for your reference: The difference between the I-20 and the Student Visa | Learn and study English in New York with New York English Academy

It seems I-20 is the document designating the duration of the stay for an F-1 student.

I’m not a residency expert but I know BMW FS will only consider F1 Visa if your employer provides a letter stating they will sponsor you for a work visa and you can show proof that your H-1B Visa application is already in the approval process.

Even then you would have to apply under the International Executive Program but luckily there is no bump on the MF.

1 Like