2017 STI base model

Follow up to my previous post.

So I’ve been discussing the option of trading in my current lease 2016 WRX LIMITED (14 months worth of payments remaining, ~6k). Dealership offered me as follows:

2017 STi Lease Pricing:

MSRP - $36,514
Your Price - $33,995
Trade Value - $24,000
Your Current Lease Payoff - $26,240
Lease Term - 29 Months (special subaru is offering)
Money Factor - .00160
Residual Value - $24, 829

Monthly Payment on STi - $585

Now again I am fairly new to all of this but it seems like I will be only on the hook for ~2k of the remaining payments which will be carried over into my new lease for about $60 extra per month.

He has yet to get back to me about my financing options but using loan calculators at an APR% of 2.9% which is what is being advertised by Subaru at the moment, am i ridiculous for thinking I can finance this car over a 72 month period for roughly the same price as leasing the vehicle? Most of the calculators gave me a figure around $567. Again excuse my lack of knowledge but any help is greatly appreciated. Dealer is trying to push me to make a decision tonight before “Memorial Day Savings” ends but I’m trying to remain level headed and not rush such a big decision. Thanks!

Imo you can get way nicer cars for that monthly payments. I test drove a WRX base and could else for maybe $280-300 a month. For what you get, it didn’t seem worth it to me. Subarus do not lease well even with their crazy high residual.

Have you looked at anything else? You can get an AWD infiniti Q50 redsport for less than that per momth