2017 Golf GTI Sport - June 2017

Hi Hackrs,

I’m new to the form and this is my first lease. I’ve searched through and tried to absorb as much as I can. I’m looking for a 2017 GTI Sport in the Bay Area and have the following TrueCar quote.

MSRP: 30,150
Discount: $4,550
Dealer fees: 80
VIN Etching: $196
Door guards: $150
Selling prince: $26,026

Plugging those numbers in for a 36/10k lease at 57% RV and 0.00095 MF (numbers I got from another VW dealer), I should be looking at somewhere around 287/mth (or 312/mth without tax) with 0 down and ~$1500 drive off. I want to get it to under 300/mth after tax - does that sound doable?

So I header back from 1 dealer:
MSRP: $30,315
Sale price: $27,315
36/10k
RV 57%
MF: 0.00212
$1500 down (includes taxes/fees + 1st month)
Monthly (incl tax) = ~405/mth

That seems like a terrible deal - the MF went up from 0.00095 to 0.00212 and the monthly comes nowhere close to the 1% rule. I’m going to reply and see if they can get it to 1% or under MSRP but seems like a really tall ask?

Any tips/guidance to improve this deal would be awesome! Thanks!!

From what I’ve seen on this forum, GTIs lease terribly. Are you set on a GTI? There’s better cars that you can lease for a much, much better deal than the GTI.

Though I’ll say… GTIs are incredibly fun to drive :slight_smile:

Yeah, they do seem terrible to lease. All the quotes I have are nowhere close to 1% of MSRP.

I’m not dead set on the GTI, I have a 500 abarth at the moment and the GTI seemed like a nice step up. I’m looking for anything fun under 300/mth. Do you know of any good leases in that range? I am looking at the Charger RT too but not sure if it can get that under 300 either lol.

Check the forum threads for Infiniti Q50, if you’re interested in that car. I got a Q50 AWD a year ago for 340/mo including tax, for 15k miles and I only paid driveoffs.

If you’re fine with 10k mi/yr, I’m sure you can get into a Q50 for under 300.