Lease Transfer Sales Tax in Texas

I am a newbie here currently leasing a 2015 Nissan Leaf which is ending in a month. I am looking at swapalease and leasetrader to take over a lease as I need a car for about 2 years. I am interested in 2018 Nissan Leaf saw many good deals on from California.

leasehackr forums have been of great help and through that I came to know that lease transfers may have to pay extra sales tax in Texas. I did my homework and searched through the forums and found three posts on this topic but there was no definite answer.

Can somebody who has experience taking over a lease chime in and throw some light here? Especially for the Texas resident assuming a lease from out of state .

For anybody interested in similar previous posts Leasing and Texas
Lease Assumption in Texas from an out of State Lease - Taxes?
Taxes with a lease transfer in Texas - how does it work?

If you assume a lease in Texas that you have brought in from another state, you will owe the Texas motor vehicles tax on the current fmv of the car when you register it. The rate is 6.25%. There is a credit for tax paid to another state, but on a lease in most states they wouldn’t have paid that up front.

@Thestallion29
Few questions -

1. I have been reading that you are supposed to pay 6.25% tax on the original sales price. You are taking of fair market value. which one is right?
  2. Is it legal or advisable to just not change the plate and use the out of state plate? I dont know, and thats why I am asking
    Thanks!