Need advice for my current lease

Hi LH,

I have been reading posts on LH, but it is my first time posting it.

I wanted to ask for your advices / suggestions on my current lease.

Right now, I have 7 payments left on my 2019 Alfa Romeo Stelvio, which I leased back in Oct. 2019. (It was a 2 year lease)

I made a difficult choice to sell my BMW X6 with negative equity (-$12K) and I am paying $1150/mo (w. negative equity) for 15K miles/Year.

After Covid, I started to work from home and I am not driving that much as I expected. Obviously, I do not want to pay $1150 a month that I don’t drive and I am looking for an option to see what would be the best solution for me.

What would you do if you were in my situation? Wait until the lease ends? Look for a brand that does lease pull ahead program? (Is there a brand for 7 mos?) Or sell the car?

I really appreciate your help on this!

Thanks.

With only very rare exceptions, no one does pull ahead on a different brand’s lease. You would need alfa to be doing pull ahead.

Unfortunately, I don’t see a good way out of this that doesn’t involve rolling more negative forward and continuing this painful cycle.

How many miles are you actually putting on, and do you enjoy the Stelvio?

In normal times I average about 300 miles a month, so I just look at an affordable lease payment as the cost of transportation, which is a necessity (even if the size of the payment is not).

Yea, right now you’re not only paying for one car you’re not using but 2 cars, the X6 and Alfa.

Unless you want to be paying for 3 cars, with only 7 payments left there is nothing to do but eat it and drive the Alfa till lease end then start over.

You can of course do the cursory checks with Carvana and Vroom to see what you could sell it for compared to your payoff, but on an Alfa with that much negative rolled in its highly unlikely you’ll be anywhere close to breakeven.

1 Like

On the bright side, you have a fun car and down to owing just $8k.

3 Likes