MSRP discount help

Hello hackers!

I’m a total newbie here, but I have to say i’ve been addicted to looking around the forums. It’s probably not the best time to get a lease with COVID interrupting everything, but I do want to learn on how to haggle more and get a better price on potential car deals.

How do you guys go about figuring out what a good MSRP % discount for a particular car before incentives. Do most of you just know based on what you see around the forum or what brokers are posting?

IE: I’ve noticed that some people are haggling BMW 3 series demo cars at around 18-20% off MSRP. Correct me if i’m wrong. Does it go across all demo cars for all makes? Or is this just for BMW or maybe the 3 series?

Also when you contact dealers, do you immediately offer what you want for a particular car. Let’s say for example. A BMW Demo 3 series is selling for 45,000 MSRP. Do you automatically offer 36,000 - pre-incentive? (I am also aware of the MF/RV at edmunds so I have that in mind as well + any other incentives)

Some dealers are responding to me like i’m crazy. I don’t know if i’m going about it the wrong way or maybe because we’re in COVID they’re looking at me like nut.

I apologize for the loaded post, but would definitely like your input!

1 Like

Ymmv, unicorns exist, some cars have been getting there like some iPaces I saw, Etrons if you include marketing allowance, etc. I’ve seen discounts that high on 19 5 series a few months ago. Volvo during normal times will get you there. Shoot with a realistic consideration for inventory and current market status.