Mazda 3 Touring Lease Questions

Hello all,
I’m completely new to the leasing game and I need your input. Firsts first, thank you in advance for taking the time to read. I am interested in leasing a 2017-2018 Mazda 3 Touring manual Hatchback. I got the following info from Edmunds and then I started e-mailing dealerships and brokers in the area.
.00001 MF and 54% residual
No lease cash

I got a couple offers. One dealership said they’d give me $500 below invoice on a 2018.
$300.00/ mo. including tax. With zero down @ 10k miles / year or;
$247 with tax with 2k down

I’m super nervous about this because I’m going into this alone and I’m not seasoned in leasing. I read that it’s probably a good idea to stick to zero down. Is the above a good deal, or am I getting taken for a ride?

I really would love to find a 2017 and lease that, but I guess they are hard to find. Any advice would be appreciated. What do you guys think a good deal is?

From reading through these posts I know that the dealer fee should be capped at $80.00 in California, the acquisition fee, tire fee, and registration fee are all valid and required. If they tell me there is a fee for the Mazda value package, it’s BS.

Leasing sounds complicated on the surface, but remember that all you care about is your total cost of leasing and comparing that to traditional financing and deprecation.

So in your case, add up the monthly payments with zero down, and you’ll see it’s probably exactly the same with the payments plus down payment. In fact it might be slightly higher with the DP. Don’t focus on the monthly cost, focus on the total cost.

My suggestion would be to then check kbb trade in value for a similar Mazda 3 that is 3 years old and the mileage you’d turn in. Compare that number to what your purchase price + taxes if you fixed and can figure out if it’s going to be a good idea to lease or not.

Mazdas in general are so-so leases, usually almost dead even to financing.