Lexus ES350 early lease termination

Currently leasing 2016 Lexus ES 350, base model. No navigation package.
I got this car in June 2016
$3000 down + 1st monthly payment
10k/42months
Monthly payment $375.89

I have been driving this car for 20 months, already have 21k miles on it.
So I would like to return it or change to different car. What is the best option u guys can recommend? I’ve read that there is early lease termination fee, and I have to pay for the rest months left(22 months in my case).
Thanks

You can transfer the lease if you find someone who will take the car. Check swapalease or the other big sites

1 Like

Yes, that is a lot of money to eat to get out for convenience. As @Siejammy mentioned try to get someone else to take over the lease (craigslist can work to find potential lessees too).

Your better option is to see if there is equity in it by selling it to another dealer (Carmax/someone else who buys used cards/lexus dealer) or trading it in on you next purchase/lease with the dealer buying it as opposed to treating it as a lease turn in. If what they will give you is within $8k of your payoff, it will be better financially than to pay the remaining payments ($8272). What is your payoff? KBB shows $26K trade in for a 2016 ES350 with standard options and your mileage.

You definitely got a fleece not a lease. When you sign on something like this you have to realize that pretty much you are in it for the long haul which is 42 months. That is a terrible lease BTW. Within 42 months the tires go and that is a big bill. I seriously doubt anyone will take that car over for 22 months base model at at that price. Unless you get somebody to assume the lease (doubtful) you are driving that car for another 22 months. To me it makes no sense to lose many thousands to try and sell it because the numbers will not work out

2 Likes

Thanks for the advices. My pay off $28600.