Insurance Situation

There was a point in time when I was in between vehicles and being that I didn’t have a vehicle to Insure I cancelled my Insurance. Looking back at it now, I understand its the worst possible thing to do as it creates a lapse in Insurance and with it a whole lot of headache. We learn from our mistakes.

Anyways, at that time I wasn’t covered under any Insurance. What happened was that one of the ppl in my household Insurances’ (most recent to switch their policy) involuntarily added me to their policy being I’m a licensed driver with no coverage. Which means I’m paying hundreds of Dollars unnecessarily on a vehicle I’m not even driving. Anyone been in similar situation before? Do I have any recourse?

Thanks

Lapse in insurance means you have a road vehicle without insurance, I wouldn’t carry insurance without a vehicle either. Second paragraph is not clear. Without your own insurance, a smart thing to do is add yourself to the policy in the household. Insurance company would’ve done it eventually or worse, dropped everyone for not disclosing it.

Do you drive the vehicle in question that belongs in your household? Most insurance companies require if you live in a household to have the other drivers listed on the policy especially if they are family members.

Did you return the tag to the state or inform them that you no longer have a vehicle?

Who are you paying and why are you paying them if it isn’t your car and you do not drive it? Recourse from? Perhaps you can ask for the money back from whomever it is you paid.

Recourse from what? Call the agent, tell them you don’t live there and to remove you from the policy.

This is what I thought too. Apparently, it’s considered a lapse even if you dont own or lease a vehicle. Insurances always want to see continuous coverage

I do live there. They can add me on to a policy without asking you? I don’t use the vehicle