How far in advance should you lease another car without the current one expiring yet

Dear Forum Members,

I am a big fan of this site and appreciate all the feedback in advance. I am still new to leases in general but learning a lot from here.

I currently have a Chevy Equinox LT1 (AWD). The lease expires in January of 2018 however, my wife is already over by about 1,000 - 1,250 miles. I live in the NY/NJ area

At what point should I consider leasing a car in advance vs pulling ahead (which I feel you get stuck). I have never pulled ahead and have zero experience with this. I would rather pay the money for the lease than pay for the extra miles however there is the paying for extra car insurance thing offset. Is it too early to consider leasing another car? At what point should I consider it?

I have a hyundai sonata lease so I would qualify for loyalty and the foreign competitor car rebates. I can only consider an AWD for my wife with our driveway and for kids. She can’t work from home like me and we want to have one AWD SUV.

With all the constant deals posted. I am eagerly scouring the forums for a good deal on a lease AWD SUV similar to an Equinox/CRV/RAV4 etc. Bigger cars like Traverse/Durango seem to jump that much in price but would consider it in a heartbeat for the right rates.

Should I only look after the summer, Also the new equinox and traverse model redesigns are coming out. Better prices now or later on for close outs? I feel it is just too early to lease another car but at what point should i consider it. Thanks in advance.

It depends based on your circumstances. Do some analysis. Make a spreadsheet where you write down what you will spend for both situations.