How do I politely tell a dealer the residual on my car is too high?

I’m in an unfortunate position of loving the 2017 Volt LT I leased and there not being any inventory nor lease deals on 2019’s that I can find. I’m going to buy back the car which I’ve never done before. The residual is a little over $18,000. There are a number of Volt LT’s under 40k miles in San Diego hovering around $17,000

I want to negotiate everything over email and not be hit with any surprises walking into the dealership. I’ve never negotiated a purchase. How do I politely tell them I’m not willing to pay the residual for this car? Also, would it be wise to tempt them with the extended warranty to lower the cost out the door then cancel it and pick one up outside of the dealership? Any advice would be appreciated. I have about 3 weeks to figure this out. TIA

You can’t because it’s in the contract you signed when you started the lease.

Why waste their finance guy’s time with this? The used car market is so competitive these days, coupled with the fact that your residual is set in stone, there will be no wiggle room.

If you really wanted a used Volt for $17k, go turn in your current Volt and buy one of those.

6 Likes

“How do I politely tell this guy the residual is something he agreed on three years ago?”

22 Likes

Return it, see if the dealer can buy it under residual from the leasing company and resell to you. If that doesn’t work (and you can be carless for a awhile) google your VIN and see where the car ends up and buy it from that dealer.

If neither of those are good options only you can decide it buying the car above market is worth it instead of buying a car that someone else drove before you (knowing the history).

1 Like

“How will the finance guy politely tell you that they undercharged you for your lease based on the actual residual and you now owe $2,000?”