Help on 2022 Kia Forte GT Lease

, , ,

I have been browsing leases for 2022 Kia Forte GTs with the GT2 package in the NJ/NY area.

Running numbers through various calculators has me paying $368/month to $438/month depending on OTD. I know cars in general are not leasing well, so I doubt I will get near that bottom number.

edit: 775 FICO

With that said:

1. What do you think is reasonable for this type of car at 10k/year in this market when registered in NJ?
  2. How best should I go about actually getting within that price range? Should I be emailing offers to various dealers instead of walking in first, and seeing where it goes? Maybe just use a broker? If so, any recommendations?

First Dealer I went to (note I did not negotiate):

• VIN: 3KPF44AC9NE429585
  • Miles per Year: 10,000
  • MSRP: $26,840
    • Kia Forte GT: $23,490
    • GT2 Package: $2,200
    • Carpeted Floor Mats: $155
    • Freight/Handling: $995
  • Market Adj.: $3,431
  • Rebate: -$330
  • Tax, Title, Registration, Fees: $2073
  • Money Factor: 0.00138
  • Residual: -$17,177
  • 0 down because it’s a lease

$499/month. Seems like 12.9% APR instead of 3.312%. Not to mention the $3,500 markup.

Second Dealer

• VIN: 3KPF44AC0NE434626
  • Miles per Year: 10,000
  • MSRP: $27,229
    • Mark-up: $459
    • Kia Forte GT: $23,490
    • GT2 Package: $2,200
    • Carpeted Floor Mats: $155
    • Freight/Handling: $995
  • Tax, Title, Registration: $2363
  • Fees: $900
    • edit: Removed Acquisition of $750
  • Money Factor: 0.00138
  • Residual: -$17,177
  • 0 down because it’s a lease

This one started at $522/month and after negotiating I could only get it to $500/month. Dealer was a nightmare so I am not going back.

I am in no particular rush since I have enough time to figure out my next lease, but come on. $500/month for a Kia Forte?