Deal check: BMW X3 M40i

, ,

Long time lurker first time poster. I’ve learned a bunch from everyone here so thank you for all of your wisdom. I’m still learning. Looking at the below deal on SAL. Any and all input on how it stacks up would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

Looking at the ad it looks like the original lessee signed up for a 12k/48 lease and the car is significantly under its allotted mileage. If you take it over (the only valid reason would be to put >1500 mi/mo) you’ll be liable for a couple of service rounds at least and the dispo fee.

If you don’t drive much you can get in a new 2020 one for less and get free maintenance for the life of the lease.

Thanks so much for the quick response. I need 15,000 miles a year. Should have mentioned that in the original post.

15k/year is more on the “Buy” side than “Lease” and you’re unlikely to get a financially sound deal on a new German car lease at that mileage level. You can ask the seller for more incentives to bring the payment closer to 600.

The total cost of this lease is around $45k plus I don’t know if there was some down money on the table to end up with 0 equity on a $63k car four years later. B A D.

Got it, thanks so much for the insight. So I would really need to get them to $600 a month for this to be worth my while. Greatly appreciated!

1 Like

Hi again guys,
Trying to help my sister secure a lease on a 2020 X3 M40i. Attached is the lease worksheet. How does it look? I’m a new member here and apparently I cannot post new topics yet.

Thanks so much

Seriously, run. The “vehicle profit” is just another discount.

Edit: forget my negative equity question - I just saw “still owed”. Seriously though, I think this lease sheet was written by a conman.

I like how they marked up the MF a little bit and then went all the way in with the “reserve profit” of an extra .00020. Nice touch.

1 Like

Yeah push for base MF. Can someone also confirm the backend is only 500 for a 66k car?