BMW MSD question/design

, ,

I’m exploring MSD for my lease of a 20’ bmw X7 M50, and for most part I see a lot of upside. ROI (vs sitting in the bank), lowering monthly payments, getting it fully refunded at the end of the lease term. (Seems to me like a no brainer)

But what are the dealerships betting on? Are they actually borrowing from us at a higher rate than they can get in todays low interest market? Doesn’t make sense.
Or the calculations are if a few customers do in fact lose their MSD due to total loss or theft the dealers are making up for it in that respect.

Excuse my lack of knowledge - I’m new to the game.

Thanks

BMW FS are no dummies. They have figured out what their risk reduction is in holding what are effectively advance payments on a lease. In exchange for the lower risk, they offer a lower interest-rate.

Also, the rules for this are not set at the dealer level. The amount of money factor, a.k.a. interest-rate, buy down is fixed by BMW FS.

1 Like

Dealerships are not betting on anything. Dealerships do not hold your lease contract. BMW Financial Services does.

The lessor uses our money as a short-term loan. And our interest reward is a reduction in MF. You’re overthinking this for no good reason.

If the vehicle is declared a total loss, you get your MSDs back. They aren’t a down payment. Search the forum for more information. MSDs have been discussed ad nauseam

2 Likes

Ok, but I calculated my annual return is 7% - why would bmw fs borrow money at that rate?

Because in theory BMW FS isn’t paying interest on the money you “loan” them. They’re providing a discount off the rate. MSDs also reduce the amount of risk on a lease for them because they have additional collateral. IMHO you’re overthinking this way too much. Focus on improving the meh offers you have on the X7 instead of the nitty gritty behind MSDs

2 Likes

Thanks! I was just curious on how MSD works.
Thank you for the clarification!