Bad MF despite good credit score for my immigration status / short credit history

Hi, I am a software engineer based in California. I moved here November 2023 and leasing a car for the first time. My credit score is around 740.

I am trying to lease a ioniq 5 and the dealership is offering me a tier 4 interest rate / money factor because of my temporary immigration status (L1B). I am wondering if this is normal? If not, how should I negotiate?

Did they actually run your credit or did you tell them about your status?
How many dealers have you contacted?

They did run my credit as I got notified about the inquiry. I have only talked to multiple dealerships but this discussion came up only after we got into the final part of leasing the car. Should I be looking around more?

They asked about my status. I believe it came up only when I had to fill up information about my address for the last 2 years. I am not sure if that is required for the lease.

You are the definition of a thin file. You have good credit just not a lot of credit history.

You may have better luck financing through the bank you use or even a credit union.

2 Likes

Is there a reason you are looking to lease a car? Do you need a car right now? I am no financial expert, but Tier 4 MF is going to cost you.

If I were in your shoes, I would find a Hyundai broker in the Marketplace. You need to run the numbers using base MF vs Tier 4 MF.

Did the dealer share any lease numbers with you? If yes, can you post here?

What is your monthly budget and the amount you are willing to pay at signing?

When does your L1B visa status expire?

When you apply for credit, some leasing banks require that information when submitting a credit application.

1 Like

Can you find a coapplicant with a good credit score?

1 Like

If OP were to search, they would find they would be better off choosing a brand with programs geared toward foreign execs, or one that doesn’t really have tiers. HMF fits neither.

2 Likes