At What Point Do Taxes Outweigh Good Value?

I have a pretty poor deal on a 2016 IS300 coming to a close - I’ve been poking around this forum for the last 18 months or so.

I am not sure if a good value is possible given that I live in downtown Chicago and the taxes are going to be 18%. That’s 9% state sales tax + 9% Cook County lease tax.

At this tax rate, is a good deal on a lease a pipe dream? I realize I can still negotiate and work prices down, but I’m wondering if that’s a threshold where purchasing and financing a vehicle would be a much better option given the 18% incremental I’m going to pay on a monthly payment. What would your cutoff be?

Cutoff would be how much you can handle. People lease in Cook all the time.

It will depend on TCO. When you finance, are you still going to trade every 2-3 years? How much do you drive? Are the incentives/rebates going to be the same in lease vs finance? Will $30/mo more in taxes stop you from leasing a luxury car with pkg you like or just get the base model since you really dont care if its got ugly leatherette and fanatics laugh at you as long there’s a bmw logo in front to save $30? Maybe my last question is somewhat insensitive and irrelevant but it still gives you the option to lease and not worry about selling. There are so many factors in lease vs buy and saying cutoff without any data is pointless. Your decision needs to be data driven since you seemed to be a logical person.

In short, get quotes and post here in leasehackr!

In general, I do not like the base model anything. I almost certainly would never get a base model car unless the deal was so absurdly worth it that I could get over the perks of the mid to upper tier models.

I drive not much - I’m turning in my lexus with 9,000 miles on it (after 36 months)… so I will be going for a low to ultra-low mileage lease. They definitely got the most out of me on this current one.