Are poster restrictions possible in broker/dealer threads?

Someone somewhere mentioned restricting posts based on geography. I don’t agree with a blanket restriction since many brokers/dealers will work out of their home region. BUT, for those broker/dealers who do use restrictions, I’m wondering if it is at all possible for them to add restrictions when creating a thread, kind of similar to Ebay where, when creating a listing, you can select restrictions on types of bidders. So, for example, I’m a broker/dealer who only works in CA and does NOT allow out-of-state deals, then I could select “Only allow posts from users in these regions: …”

Yes, of course they can write “not out-of-state” but many do that and yet posters from out of their state/region still post. It happens daily.

1 Like

I agree. This needs to happen

1 Like

Automatic slow mode would be interesting as well for threads that resemble chat rooms.

1 Like

I mentioned then deleted in Aronchi’s thread, a prompt before you get into the thread, something like “just so you are aware, this deal is for this region only, will not entertain other regions” I don’t think you can restrict anyone, but it might help weed out people who don’t read.

2 Likes

I believe a trusted hackr previously suggested locking all broker threads so no one could post except for the broker, may be even better.

2 Likes

It was me and I stand by this idea.

7 Likes

It may actually force people to read and eliminate the constant unneeded spam.

3 Likes

Would there be a way for users to know if there is a new update if only the 1st post is continuously edited? Or would you have the broker make a new reply each time?

1 Like

I think this is the ideal scenario. A shame we appear to be in the minority on this opinion

3 Likes

Well, all they need to do is to read one post which would have the latest updates as well as a permanent header with broker’s review link and contact info. So it would be up to brokers to keep it current.