Alfa Romeo - Lease and buyout vs buying used

I’ll preface this by saying sorry if this is a dumb question, but I’m new to leasing and I’m not sure if I’m missing something here.

I’ve been looking at leasing an Alfa Romeo Giulia since there are really good deals going around on them. There are a lot of people that seem to be signing leases for $300-400 a month on a brand new Giulia with a ~$50,000 MSRP minus maybe $6-9k from incentives. The used market on these shows that 2 year old Giulias with ~20k miles go for around $27k. With lease deals this good, I’m having trouble seeing how it isn’t a steal to lease a brand new car and then maybe buyout the lease at the end (if I wanted). How is it possible that people are paying say $350 a month for 2 years then at the end of the lease they have a car worth $15k less than when it was new? Am I missing something about these deals, is FCA subsidizing sales to get the cars on the road, or what?

This means these people paid about $36K for the $50K MSRP car. 375*24 = 9000. 27000+9000 = 36000. Roughly of course. Part of the discount is dealer discount and the rest are incentives.

I paid $31K for my $45K Giulia, which puts me at the $260 payment all in.

Alfa Romeo is not profitable right now, as building a luxury brand takes time, and the competition is fierce. Alfas are for true enthusiasts who value driving feel, and who don’t care about things like subpar infotainment.

Personally, I would never buy an Alfa. My brother leased a Giulia, and it was one of the most marvelous driver’s cars of all time. But…living true to its brand, it was also in the shop every other month for service. And that’s a big reason why no one wants these when the lease runs out.

I’m sure you’ll get plenty of anecdotal “mine has never had a problem!” but why bother with the risk on such a rapidly depreciating asset?

1 Like