Advice on custom build 530i

Hi,

I’m new to leasing and have read about the components that go into the lease payment here. I’m trying to do a build to order 2018 5 series. I built the exact specs I wanted and shared the build code with a dealer and received the following:

2018 530i
61% residual
.00176 MF
$69,400 MSRP
total due at signing $2200
36 mos/10k miles

payment $965/mo

1. This deal is of course much worse than most 5 series deals I see on here. Right off the bat I see the MSRP is higher than most due to the packages I chose. What is the right next step to negotiate selling price? Should I ask directly for something around invoice (~7% discount)? Is it possible to negotiate more aggressively on selling price (10%+ discounts) on a build to order car?
  2. The MF seems high but this should be for tier-1 credit. What can be done to reduce this?
  3. I don’t have any store or corp discounts available. What other discounts should I be targeting?

In general, what next steps do you recommend to get this build to a more reasonable payment? What would your payment goal be for something in that MSRP ballpark?

Thanks!

You don’t have allot of negotiating power since you’re ordering a car, you could try shopping this with other dealers. There’s just not allot a motivation for a dealer, you’ll do allot better finding something on someone’s lot. Additionally, the dealer doesn’t want to get stuck with a loaded car that no one wants to buy.

Thank you for the response, I thought this might be the case. Are there any strategies people use when ordering a car? Perhaps something around invoice is as good a deal as possible in that case?

I’ve actually had some of my better/easier deals on ordered cars.