2019 Mazda CX-5 Lease. Bad deal?

Hello, this is my first time leasing and I am looking for a Mazda CX-5 Touring in NY. I am getting quoted an offer for $400 / mo with $1,500 down. When I run the numbers on the leasehackr calculator, it seems like the only way to get those payments is with 0% discount and no lease cash. However the dealer claims they’ve discounted heavily and counted the lease cash.

MF .00139, Residual 60%, 36/15K

Am I doing something wrong or is this really a bad offer?

They SAID they discounted heavily…did you actually SEE that they did? Get some numbers.

Mazda’s typically aren’t good leases, but a mid tier CX5 shouldn’t be 400/mo w/1500 down. You could probably get into a GT for less than that.

It’s about the details…they have them, you need them.

MSRP, Selling price, dealer discount, incentives/rebates, fees, tax…no one can help you evaluate a lease in a comprehensive way unless you have this level of detail.

That makes sense, thanks. I’ve tried to ask for the numbers but the sales rep is a bit cagey about it. It’s taken a few days just to get MF/Residual and MSRP. He won’t share cap cost and fees so far though.

It helps to know if it’s in the ballpark of a good/bad deal to calibrate how aggressively I can push back.

To get the best deal, you need to be emailing every dealer within 100 miles. The MF, residuals, and incentives can be found here ( https://forums.edmunds.com/ ) by selecting the appropriate Make, Model, and forum thread.

Take a look at a CX-5 that you find suitable on cargurus.com and look at the Price Analysis. You can do better than the “Great” number if you do your homework or get lucky. On an MSRP of $29,360, looks like a “Great” price according to cargurus is $27,071 or 7.8% off MSRP. The Residual can’t be marked up, but the MF can, so you need to confirm it on edmunds and then you can start to figure out what a reasonable monthly would be using the lease calculator to get a decent approximation.