2016 GMC Sierra SLE- First Time Lease- Question

Hello,
This is my first time posting in any sort of forum so forgive me in advance. My situation, looking at a new truck with crew cab.

Looking to trade in my current car to cover the $3,000.00 down payment (taxes, tags etc.) and I woudl be left with a $430.00 per month payment for 39 month/12,000 miles

Location NJ
$430.00 X 39 = $16,770.00
Current car worth $3,000.00 (at best)

Is the $3,000 drive-off, $430/month payment based on an actual quote you got from a dealer?

Here’s what I’d target to pay in NJ:

2016 Sierra 1500 SLE Crew Cab 4WD
36/12K: 61% residual, .00085 MF
Incentives: $150 GM Financial Lease Cash

I’d target 10% off MSRP before incentives. Assuming MSRP of $44,800, that’s a selling price of $40,320.

When you plug these numbers into the lease calculator, you get $435/month + tax with $0 down (+ first month’s payment, license/registration, doc fee due at signing).

1 Like

Hi Michael,

Thanks for responding.

The $3,000 drive-off, $430/month was quoted by the salesman. That happened over the phone after I had left the dealership and was told to “come back with your car and bring the title”. I’ll admit I am a bit reserved when it comes to car purchases due to some poor past experiences and hearing horror stories.

Adding an update, I also stopped at a Chevy dealer to look at a 2016 1500 Silverado LT. List price is $47,200.00 39 month/ 12,000 miles and $445.00 per month. I didn’t negotiate as I didn’t have much time and had to leave but intend on calling them back to see about dropping the overall price and try to do the same deal with a $3,000.00 trade in.

Long story short is I’m not sure what a good deal on a lease is. The monthly payment isn’t an issue around the mid fours, but I also don’t want to overpay.