2016.5 Mazda CX-5 Sport - Lease Promotion - $279/mo, No Money Down - Newbie Needs Advice?

I’m a leasing newbie, but my lady really wants to lease a new Mazda.

Right now, Mazda USA is running a promotion for a 36 month lease.

“ZERO TO DRIVE LEASE-$279/Month, 36-Month Lease. $0 Down Payment, $0 Security Deposit, $0 1st Month’s Payment, $0 due at Lease Signing. Excludes taxes, title and fees. Monthly payment includes a $595 Acquisition Fee.”

This is based on the Sport model with an MSRP of $23,595. When using a promotion, Is there anything to negotiate? What can I do to get the price down? What do I need to ask for to get the best deal?

Any advice from you Hackers would be greatly appreciated. Obviously, I want to her to pay as little as possible.

Also interested in this car, it’s won a lot of awards :slight_smile:

A good deal is when you pay 1% or less of msrp for lease. So for this, target is 239. You should be able to get dealers to do better than the mational offer. Need to find out sales price and residual. Eg acura advertises 249 lease on tlx, some dealers afvertise 188. So definitely room for negotiation. Negotiate like a purchaser. Find out if anyone would sell for 20k. Tell then you are ahopping kia or hyundai and they have similar for 20k

The deal assumes a selling price of about $800 off MSRP. Depending on where you’re located, it might be possible to go lower. Use resources like Edmunds or TrueCar to see what the average price paid is.

Should I still expect to pay 1% or less of MSRP a month for a lease with No Money Down?

I looked at TruCar for pricing on this model, but most people are paying a few hundred more than MSRP for some reason.

That seemed strange to me.

That is a rule of thumb for knowing when you got a good deal with 1% MSRP with no money down. Obviously not applicable in all situations and if people want to pay above MSRP for a high demand car, then well, nothing we can do. Not all cars will lease for 1%.