NJ Registration wtf?

Ok, so I finally got my NJ tags and registration in the mail for my fart can (loaner) 3 series that I leased at the end of February…(took over 6 weeks!)

When I looked at the registration, I noticed that it was only good for a year? WTF? Says “expires 04/2020”.

I’m a new NJ resident so this is the first time I’m registering a car in NJ so forgive me for the questions, but aren’t you supposed to get a registration for however long your lease is on the vehicle? In other words, I was expecting my registration to be valid until 2021 (when my lease is over). Kinda disappointed as I paid full DMV fees but only got a 1 year registration.

Is it because it was a loaner and not a brand new vehicle, that they issued a 1year registration.

This means that next April I’ll have to pay another $50-$60 for a 1 year renewal .

On a new car, NJ tags are 4 or 5 years by default IIRC

Did someone check “used” by mistake?

Lease contract says “New” but I guess they knew the mileage cause it had 3200 miles on…

Also, didn’t know in NJ that the owner is not listed on the registration which I thought is weird. No mention of my name or address anywhere . Simply says “Leased Vehicle” etc and has the captive down.

How do the police know who the vehicle is registered to? More things I’m learning as a new NJ resident…

The bank owns the plates in NJ. Typically, the regi is more than the card - it’s included in a paper, where the lessee information is listed.

Depends who and how it was registered. If a new car dealer in NJ (or dealer that can register in NJ) registered it, you’d get 4 yr registration. 4 yr registration is I think $240.

If the car was purchased/leased at a NJ dealership it should be a 4 year registration. If it was purchased at a dealership outside NJ but registered in NJ then it’s only good for 1 year and needs to be renewed yearly.