2018 VW Tiguan SEL Premium - First time lease, but know there are some deals out there

Hi everyone,

I am new to this leasing stuff and have only purchased 10+ yo cars in the past, but like the features on newer cars. The SEL-P has the lane assist and ACC that can help in traffic (There is also some tweaks with the software that can enable lane assist down to 0mph, and change to lane centering vs bouncing off the lines)

Anyways, I see a LOT of Tiguan’s sitting in VW lots in my area (Norcal - Bay Area) and know they are willing to make a deal on the 2018s to move on to the 2019s, so I have been shopping around prices.

In general I am seeing many similar numbers:

MSRP: 39,300
Sales Price: 31,500
MF: .00150

Drive off (including acquisition, document fee, registration, a small deposit): 3000
sales tax 8.75%
Miles:12,000
36 months

residual 52%

Best monthly payment $296 taxes included
with maintenance and wear and tear (10K of damage covered) included into the monthly +$55, so 351 all together.

Does this sound pretty good? I have heard VWs lease terribly, but this does not sound too bad.

I have gotten ~$350-450 from other dealers, but without maintenance and wear and tear.

Also I was thinking I may look into the option to possibly swap to a 2019 Golf Sportwagon lease in a year or so, is there any tricks to something like that? It is a dumb idea to even think about?

That’s a good deal. Absolutely do not put money down - roll all that $3k into the monthly - and do not waste money on maintenance and especially wear and tear, which is a huge rip off unless maybe you live in NYC. And read the terms! It covers $10k of total damage, but only $1k per instance. So that scratch that costs $1,001 to fix? Not covered.

There are no tricks to “swapping” to a Golf Wagon. If you want a Golf Wagon (that lease is going to be ugly, like more than my Audi), don’t get a Tiguan.

1 Like